Blog post

5 Events offering post-lockdown arts, theatre & live music in Kent & Sussex this summer

July 27, 2020

I know there’s a lot going on in the world right now – but this summer just hasn’t felt the same without the annual series of music festivals and arts events that usually take place across the country. The arts industry has taken a huge blow thanks to Covid. It’s certainly worrying, BUT there are signs that things are starting to change. As we all get used to the new normal theatre companies and music venues are becoming increasingly creative in their planning for future events. I’ve really enjoyed hearing about a number of events scheduled to take place across Kent and Sussex over the coming months. Here’s hoping they’ll be the first of many…

Kent

Hever Castle – Bitesize Festival Theatre

All performances are open air events with a view of the castle. Bring your own cushions, blankets and chairs – picnics are strongly encouraged!

What’s on?

Tuesday 18th August – Romeo & Juliet

Friday 21st August – Comedy Club

Saturday 22nd August – Ronnie Scott’s All Stars

Sunday 23rd August – Gilbert & Sullivan

Tuesday 25th August – A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Wednesday 26th August – Wind in the Willows FAMILY SHOW

Friday 28th August – Dolly Parton

Saturday 29th August – Simon & Garfunkel

Sunday 30th August – Last night of the Proms

E M Forster Theatre – Tonbridge School

Family Outdoor Performances – Events to take place in the Library Gardens

What’s on?

27th – 29th August – Joseph and His Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat

31st August – Gnora the Gnome’s Daytime Disco

31st August – Romeo & Juliet

Pub in the Park’s Garden Party

Drive-In socially distanced festival at Eridge Park featuring live music and great food and artisan market.

What’s on?

Friday 18th September – Gentleman’s Dub Club, Stereo MC’s & Becky Hill

Saturday 19th September – Soul II Soul & Keane

Sunday 20th September – Gabrielle, Toploader & Craig Charles (Daytime); Squeeze & Steve Harley (Evening)

Sussex

Brighton Open Air Theatre

BOAT is an open air theatre on Dyke Road Park in Hove.

What’s on?

Highlights include:

Saturday 1st August – Stand up comedy with Seann Walsh, Rachel Parris and Marcus Bridgstocke.

Monday 3rd August – Alice in Lockdown

Weds 6th & Thurs 7th August – The Wondeful Wizard of Oz

Weds 12th – Sat 22nd August – Abigail’s Party

Monday 24th August – The Wind in the Willows

Plus loads more – please check their website for full listings.

East Sussex School of Circus Arts – Mechanical Circus

A socially distanced, outdoor event taking place at Knockhatch Adventure Park.

What’s on? Prepare to be bedazzled with an hour of exciting, daring and dangerous circus acts from acrobatics, trapeze, comedy, fire skills and singing all based around heavy duty machinery and a retro 80’s soundtrack!

28th & 29th with performances at 4pm and 7pm.

Know of any other events taking place in Kent or Sussex? Get in touch: jugglingonrollerskates@outlook.com

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.